Wine

A Guide to Kansas City Wineries

I grew up in a wine loving family and have been an avid wine lover myself for awhile now. And I wouldn’t have imagined that 2 years ago when I moved to Kansas City that I would come across such wonderful wineries. I have learned so much about unique grapes, wines I’ve never tried before, different growing regions, etc. It has been a fun hobby and I would love to share with you a few of my favorites and what you can’t miss while you’re there!

Somerset Ridge Winery

29725 Somerset Rd, Paola, KS 66071

So this was the first winery I came across and I’m so happy it was! I’ve been to the winery many times and have never been disappointed. $6 for a tasting of 5 wines. Usually they’ll have a dry or sweet lineup but are flexible if there’s something you want to try instead! My favorites are Flyboy Red (a beautiful, bold yet easy drinking red blend) and Aphrodite (a summer rosΓ©, that is dry and pleasant). All of their wines are a try at least once but you have to try their Citron! It’s a lemon and brandy dessert wine and it’s such a fun wine to sip on or mix with! (My recommended combos are Citron and honey whiskey or switching out your orange juice in your mimosas for Citron!). But one of the best parts of Somerset is on the weekends in the summer months, they have a food truck (usually El Tenedor which is awesome Spanish tapas) and live music in their beautiful garden.

Aubrey Vineyards

7932 Santa Fe Dr, Overland Park, KS 66204

Aubrey Vineyards has the most unique tasting experience! The tasting location is located inside of Vinyl Renaissance in downtown Overland Park. Their tastings are free and they’ll let you taste all of their wines (multiple times in some cases haha).  Their employees are always great and make the tastings very enjoyable! My favorites are their Chambourcin, Vidal Blanc, and Catawba but I feel like those change with the season because they have so many good ones! Must try’s: Apple Wine (I promise it’s not as sweet as you think it is), Honey Wine, Traminette, Trailrider White, and Tawny Port. Yes the list is long but they’re great and fun! Also you have the opportunity to try different vintages of their Chardonnay and Cabernet Sauvignon.

Nighthawk Winery

16381 W 343rd St, Paola, KS 66071

Nighthawk is such a gem. Everyone who works there are completely wonderful and friendly. There are some games on property like jenga and corn hole and live music on the weekends.  They have also been known to have some food every once in awhile! The must try’s: Moon Dance, Vignoles, and Chambourcin. I believe their tastings are $5 for 6 wines and you get to customize your tasting.

KC Wine Co

13875 S Gardner Rd #1, Olathe, KS 66061

KC Wine Co is probably the newest one on the scene that I’m mentioning. Their tastings are similar prices to the rest of them. Here you also get to customize your tasting. They also have wine slushies and a beautiful property with a lot of yard games. Definitely somewhere that you can spend several hours hanging out! Their must try’s: Vignoles, Vidal Blanc, and Prairie Rose. But they have lots of unique ones. They also have many different events on their property.

+

Some other wineries that I’ve only been to once so I don’t have much information on but they were all pretty pleasant:

  • Amigoni Winery
  • Davenport Winery
  • Bluejacket Crossing Winery
  • Pirtle Winery
  • Weston Wine Co.
  • Stone Pillar Winery

There are plenty of other wineries in the area that I’m dying to try too:

  • KC Wineworks
  • Holy Field Winery
  • Jowler Creek
  • Belvoir Winery
  • White Tail run
  • Vox Vineyards

So if you’re in the KC area please check these out!  And if you come across any other ones or have any recommendations about the ones that I haven’t been to, please comment below! πŸ™‚ Happy Wine Wednesday!

 

Leave a Reply

