Healthy Living

Getting Your Man to Be Healthy

Ladies, we all know what happens.  You start a new health trend, you’re all excited and have it all planned out.  Then your man gets home from work and asks you to skip your workout to watch a movie or to put away the quinoa and asparagus and so he can order take out.

My boyfriend was the same way when I decided to start on this journey.  I would head to gym after work and come back to him just sitting on the couch.  But honestly getting him to come to the gym with me wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be.  It became something we did together.  Some days we would both lift for 20 or 30 minutes and then head on a 30 minute walk.  Some day we would both be in the gym for an hour doing our own thing, maybe working in different equipment together.  Some days I would put together an at home circuit for us to do together. But I think the part of it that both of us enjoy the most is the walks together.  We have some beautiful trails by our apartment and walking together in the evening is so enjoyable.  We both just chat about our days and it’s such a nice wind down.


But the eating healthy is where the struggle really begins.  I found that recreating some of his favorites foods as a healthy alternative was my best bet.  He loves buffalo chicken anything.  So I started making buffalo cauliflower on a regular basis and he loves it.  That will usually be our meatless meal of the week because I’ll just make a whole head of cauliflower and some side salads and call it good! See my buffalo cauliflower recipe below. (My pictures last time I made it turned out terrible so hopefully next time I capture some good ones to update this post with 🙂 )


There’s so many healthier version of guys’ favorite foods that you can easily find all over Pinterest but here are a few of my favorite alternatives:

  • Turkey Zucchini Quinoa Meatballs
  • Zoodles are a great substitute for pasta
  • Homemade Stir Fry
    • Homemade stir fry sauce is key! I always use low sodium soy sauce, siracha, rice vinegar, fresh grated ginger, and lots of garlic! It always turns out good!
  • Quinoa is a great substitute for rice and goes great in casserole-like dishes or mac and cheese!
  • Salmon Quinoa Burgers
    • Getting my boyfriend to like salmon I thought was going to be a challenge but spice salmon quinoa burgers with some siracha and cilantro turned out awesome!
  • Fresh salsa
    • making fresh homemade salsa has made for a great healthy snack for us and easy cooking. We add to everything from chicken to fresh fish
    • Salsas are usually made up of tomatoes, onion, orange pepper, cilantro, jalapeno, lime juice, garlic, and cumin all thrown in the blender
  • Hot sauce
    • According to my boyfriend – hot sauce makes everything better. Our favorite right now – Trader Joe’s Green Dragon Sauce
  • Stuffed peppers
    • usually either turkey or chicken, quinoa, and veggies


My other big advice is to get your man in the kitchen with you! Sometimes the easiest of recipes to get them making are the healthiest because there are less ingredients.  My boyfriend loves making easy stuffed peppers with a baked egg on top.  Yum!  Recently I got my boyfriend on my smoothies for breakfast kick.  Which is great because now I know he actually eats a breakfast and I can just make it when I’m making mine. (He was the just grab a banana and go kind of guy).


So hopefully your man joins you on your healthy life! It’s so much easier that way! If you have any additional tips or ideas feel free to share in the comments!

Buffalo Cauliflower

Ingredients

  • 1 head of cauliflower
  • pepper to taste
  • chili powder to taste
  • 1/2 cup Franks Red Hot Sauce (or something similar)
  • 1 pat of unsalted butter
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Steps

  1. Preheat oven to 425° F
  2. Chop up cauliflower to bite sized pieces
  3. Lay out the cauliflower on a tin foil lined cookie sheet, drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with pepper and chili powder (No salt because the hot sauce has a lot of sodium)
  4. Roast for 20 minutes, tossing half way through
  5. Melt the butter and combine with hot sauce (amount of hot sauce varies – but you will need enough to lightly coat the cauliflower)
  6. Transfer the cauliflower to a bowl and coat with the hot sauce
  7. Return the cauliflower to the cookie sheet and roast for another 7-10 minutes
  8. Enjoy with blue cheese dressing, ranch dressing, or by itself! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

