Healthy Living

Sticking to Your Goals While Traveling

It is practically impossible to be perfect health-wise when traveling. I know this. Very well aware. So I try to take advantage of the times while traveling when my health is part of my control. When I get to 100% choose what I eat/what I do. Because we all know when you’re visiting family or friends that isn’t always the case.

This weekend I’m traveling to Michigan for my dad’s wedding. Queue the expensive, over-processed airport food. We’re traveling around lunch time so I made sure to pack myself some essentials that will keep me full and healthy while traveling.

Pictured above you see some of the assortment I brought (for me and my boyfriend). All from Trader Joes because that place is a goldmine for healthy well-priced snacks! Kind bars and 2-ingredient fruit bars.  Roasted wasabi seaweed is to die for, so addicting, and literally it’s fine to eat the whole package! Take a look at the nutrition label yourself!
I made some celery and peanut butter with chia seeds and flax seeds. And finally I made an awesome trail mix made up of coconut chips, slivered almonds, dried pineapple, and dark chocolate cocoa nibs. Just pretending I’m in the tropics with this one! Vacation here I come!


But besides the travel days, we all know we’re going to eat out. So treat yourself well! Try to stick with grilled foods, vegetables and healthy grains/starches. But sometimes that won’t be realistic and sometimes you just want to say “hell I’m on vacation” and that’s okay too!! Your happiness and vacation are above all!

Vacation health isn’t all about food. Being active on vacation is a great opportunity to stick with the routine too! There are so many HIIT workouts that you can do in a hotel room, on the beach, in the park in just 20 minutes. Or maybe that restaurant that you’re dying to go to is just a mile walk, so just do it! Just because you’re on vacation doesn’t mean you have to fall completely off the wagon! I’m ready for some beautiful lakeside workouts!

So don’t let your summer vacations get you completely off track. Know your goals, know what you need to be happy and healthy, and above all have fun with your friends and family!

Leave a Reply

